PIERRE, S.D. (AP) — Statues of former South Dakota governors Frank Farrar and Arthur Mellette are finding permanent homes in Pierre.

The latest additions to the Trail of Governors project were being installed Friday.

The project is placing statues of former state leaders on a route through downtown Pierre and the Capitol grounds. Statues of governors Harvey Wollman and Bill Janklow will be the next two to be placed. Next year, statues of Mike Rounds, Robert Vessey and George Mickelson are planned.

Statues of former governors Harlan Bushfield and Walter Dale Miller were installed last year.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.