PIERRE, S.D. (AP) — Four more South Dakota teachers have earned National Board Certification, a designation the state Education Department calls the teaching profession's top honor.

The South Dakota teachers who received the certification in 2013 are Anne Moege of the Mitchell School District, Rebecca Kline of the Rapid City Area School District, Ruth Conway of the Rapid City Area School District, and Kelly Assman of the Winner School District.

So far, 103 South Dakota teachers have achieved National Board Certification.

Officials say that while licensing standards set basic requirements to teach in a state, National Board Certification demonstrates that teachers have advanced knowledge, skills and practices similar to certifications earned by experts in law and medicine.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.