The South Dakota Democratic Party state central committee elected Ann Tornberg of Beresford chair of the state party and Joe Lowe of Piedmont as vice chair.

Tornberg  defeated  Minnehaha County Commissioner Jeff Barth. Bill Nibbelink of Flandreau was re-elected treasurer and Lorri May of Madison was re-elected secretary.

"South Dakota Democrats have a lot of work to do to rebuild our county parties, recruit top tier candidates and register voters,” Tornberg said. “I look forward to working with my vice chair Joe Lowe and Democrats from all parts of South Dakota to build consensus, advance the issues which are important to working families throughout the state and elect Democrats up and down the ballot."

Tornberg  is a retired teacher from Beresford and is a past president of the Sioux Falls Education Association. She lost a bid for the state senate in the 2014 election.

Tornberg is scheduled to appear on KSOO-AM's Viewpoint Univeristy program at 5:30 p.m. Monday.