The South Dakota Rock and Roll Music Association have announced the groups, individuals, and venues being inducted next year.  The event will be at the Ramkota Exhibit Hall April 13, 2013.

This year's inductees are:

From Sioux Falls; The Hursmen and Ma's Boys.   Flandreau; Nickel Bag of Soul.  Madison; Outer Limits.  Spearfish; Birch Ray and the Walkers. Sisseton; Lads of Sherwood. Lead; The Roselle Brothers.  

Two popular regional groups from Iowa are being inducted.  The Velaires, and The Seven Sons.

From the Twin Cities, a group with international acclaim, The Trashmen.  Their 1963 hit, "Surfin' Bird" catapulted them to fame.

All of the inductees will be performing!

Individuals who helped secure Rock and Roll a place in South Dakota history are also being recognized:

Dennis Brown aka Jim Rose from Aberdeen, for the Lifetime Achievement Award; Lloyd Nerland, originally from Webster and Huron will be posthumously given the Spirit of the Music Award; Ray Durkee from Aberdeen will receive the DJ plaque

For places to enjoy the music, White Eagle club of New Effington, Horatios in Brookings, Groveland Park in Tyndall, and four night clubs in Sioux Falls, Shorty's, Club Cabana, Stardust, and Seven Oaks will be recognized.

Lyal's Music Store in Lake Preston and KDSJ, 980 Am in Deadwood are also being inducted for their contribution to Rock and Roll.

For tickets and more in depth bios on the inductees and the SDRRMA,  go to: