TEA, S.D. (AP) - The southeastern South Dakota city of Tea is without a police chief.

City Councilman Chuck Ortmeier tells KSFY-TV that Chief Brian Ketterhagen and Officer James Klimple resigned on Monday during a closed executive session of the City Council. He wouldn't say why. A telephone listing could not immediately be found for either Ketterhagen or Klimple.

Mayor John Lawler told the Argus Leader newspaper that the two men resigned for personal reasons. He did not elaborate. Lincoln County State's Attorney Tom Wollman declined to comment to KSFY.

Assistant Chief Brian Tvedt is temporarily acting as chief as the city looks for a successor to Ketterhagen, who had been chief a little more than two years.

Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. Material may not be redistributed.