(Photo by Stephen Morton/Getty Images)

Polls will stay open a little longer for those who wish to vote in the election of Sioux Falls School Board candidates. A fire alarm at Hayward Elementary School in Northwest Sioux Falls caused a 15 minute stoppage in the election process.

The election is slated to be a 12-hour event. As a result of the delay in one polling place, all voting centers will be open an extra 15 minutes. This extension allows the election process to be open for 12 hours in the affected location. It also synchronizes the stoppage time at all locations so that ballots do not get counted in advance of an election center closing. The official close of the election will be 7:15 p.m. this evening.

Voters will decide between four candidates including incumbent Kent Alberty with Joshua Schorzmann, Matt Leedom and Carly Reiter challenging. The top two candidates with the most votes will be elected to the school board.

Here is the list of election centers.

1-1 Peace Lutheran Church, 5509 W. 41st Street

1-2 Memorial Middle School, 1401 S. Sertoma Avenue (enter on south
end of building--gym doors)

1-3 Maricar Community Center, 400 N. Valley View Road

1-4 Sioux Falls Arena, 1201 N. West Avenue

1-5 Oyate Community Center, 2421 W. 15th Street

1-6 Asbury United Methodist Church, 2425 S. Western Avenue

1-7 First Lutheran Church, 327 S. Dakota Avenue

1-8 Wesley United Methodist Church, 1700 E. Sixth Street

1-9 Kenny Anderson Community Center, 3701 E. 3rd Street

1-10 Morningside Community Center, 2400 S. Bahnson Avenue

1-11 Instructional Planning Center, 201 E. 38th Street

1-12 Embrace Church, 2800 E. 57th Street

1-13 Faith Baptist Fellowship Hall, 607 W. 57th Street