The death of the Freedom Forum’s founder Al Neuharth is not the reason for the change. The 27th presentation of the Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media was planned for October 3 during Dakota Days homecoming festivities at the University of South Dakota. Although the loss of Neuharth is considerable blow, the postponement until next year is due to a conflict for the intended recipient.

The Freedom Forum and USD, co-sponsors of the award given annually since 1989, said in a joint statement that the date and details of the next presentation will be announced later. James C. Duff, Freedom Forum’s chief executive officer, said both organizations have agreed to continue the award in honor of Neuharth, who died April 19, 2013, at age 89.

The award, recognizing lifetime achievement, has been given to such distinguished media members as Walter Cronkite (1989); ; Helen Thomas (1991); Tom Brokaw (1992); Larry King (1993); Charles Kuralt (1994); Robert MacNeil (1996); Cokie Roberts (1997); Jim Lehrer (2001); Garrison Keillor (2005); Bob Schieffer (2006); Katie Couric (2009); and last year’s recipient Marilyn Hagerty.