SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (AP) - Dr. Daniel J. Heinemann of Canton is the new president of the South Dakota State Medical Association.

Heinemann succeeds Dr. Robert Allison of Pierre as head of the association of physicians and medical students.

Heinemann is a chief medical officer for Sanford Health Network and Sanford Clinic.

At its annual meeting last week, the Medical Association elected Mary J. Milroy of Yankton as president-elect. Tim M. Ridgway of Brandon was elected vice president, John R. Fritz of Aberdeen was chosen as secretary, and H. Thomas Hermann of Sturgis was elected treasurer.

The Medical Association's distinguished service award was presented to Rodney Parry, former dean of the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.