A surging wintry mix has caused tricky travel across Western South Dakota.  On Saturday, the South Dakota Department of Transportation issued a No Travel Advisory for a fifty mile stretch of Interstate 90.

The storm produced a mixture of freezing rain, snow and strong winds which made travel extremely difficult between Rapid City and Wall.  Starting at about 5:30CT/4:30MT in the evening until 8:00CT/7:00MT conditions were dangerous from mile marker 60 to mile marker 110.  The advisory was lifted because of the storm intensity reduced.

The cold front triggering the wintry mix continues its track toward the east with a Winter Weather Advisory through Central Nebraska all the way to Central North Dakota.  Winter Storm Warnings were posted for the extreme North Central parts of North Dakota where some areas could receive 10 to 15 inches of snow by Sunday evening.   Fortunately for the Sioux Falls area, only about a trace of snow is expected as .14 inches of rain fell Saturday evening according to the National Weather Service.