SIOUX FALLS - Two South Dakota high school students are among more than 140 students from across the country being recognized for their accomplishments in academics or the arts.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced the 49th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars on Monday. Duncan says Presidential Scholars demonstrate what accomplishments can be made when students challenge themselves, set high standards and commit.

In South Dakota, Theodore F. Riggs High School student Tessa H. Myren and Washington High School student Micah C. Shaffer were selected.

Created in 1964, the Presidential Scholars Program has honored more than 6,000 of the nation's top-performing students. A ceremony will be held June 16, at which point each honoree will receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.